rachelcoker



Video Blog: Reading Reviews in British Accents

Okay, first off, can I just say “WOW” at all the book suggestions I got in my last post??? Seriously, you guys are the BEST! I can’t wait to get my hands on some of those titles I’d never heard of…. Mmmm…

So today my sisters and I decided to be totally weird and make a video of us reading a few of my favorite reviews of my newest book “Chasing Jupiter” in horribly corny British accents. Gah.

I know what question will be on all of your minds after viewing this… And the answer is no, we haven’t always been this amazing.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hannah Elise says:

    Hilarious! I’m going to put your two books on my reading list šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Twinkle says:

    (To be read in a British accent)
    You girls are lovely. Cannot possibly wait to get my hands on a copy of Chasing Jupiter.
    I was watching a English movie last night so this was perfect. I do so hope we’ll be seeing more of you lasses.
    A bit of an odd question but I thought I t’would ask. How many words is Chasing Jupiter? Interrupted?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thanks for asking! Each book is approx. 55,000 words, I think…

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
      • * Twinkle says:

        Thanks so much. I was wondering because I’m a writer as well. Thanks again, Miss Coker

        Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    Oh my word, Rachel, this was hilarious!! I love how you ended by blowing a kiss. šŸ˜‰ I must say, these sort of video blogs are my absolute favorite. It gives us a glimpse into your lovable, quirky, and hilarious everyday life–I suppose it helps having Hannah and Ruth there as well. We don’t see a whole lot of them on the blog, but whenever they make a special appearance they always bring lots of laughs and bring out the relaxing and comfortable feel to your blog. šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, I know, that was so spontaneous but it just worked. šŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t let us practice our accents beforehand because I wanted it to be as silly and awkward as possible. šŸ˜‰ And yeah, I think they enjoyed being a part of it! šŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Chihuahuacharms says:

    Lol, that wasn’t bad. And considering the fact that I’m British, I would know. Yor accent is good but the expressions… Cringe šŸ˜‰ it made it waaaaay funnier though – and we make fun of you Americans, so I guess it’s only fair.
    (read in awful fake southern accent)
    So yeah, bye y’all!
    (back to normal voice)
    Which reminds me, has anyone read beautiful creatures?? šŸ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh yay!!! We weren’t really trying to be good, we just wanted to be silly, haha. And yes, we are very good at Southern accents seeing as that’s the way we speak everyday! I say “ya’ll” for everything! šŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Abbi Hart says:

    Amazingly done! Loved this! Rosie is a blogging friend of mine so I was pretty excited to see her review was one of the one’s read!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Rosie says:

    Thank you so much for reading my review!! Big thanks also to Hannah, tell her she rocked it. šŸ˜‰ All your accents were wonderful and I think you should do this more often.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, thank YOU for writing the review! šŸ˜‰ But seriously, you couldn’t have thrown “boiled potatoes” into there??? šŸ˜›

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Britt says:

    Haha, loved it! šŸ™‚ Still haven’t read Chasing Jupiter, but I’ll try soon!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Emii says:

    *Grins* Love it. English accents are absolutely the best.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Joy says:

    I love this vlog, Rachel, it is so sweet just seeing you and your two sisters interact and have fun like this (reminds me of me and my three sisters together!) and your English accents are so quaint (especially your expressions!). I am the owner of a queer accent really… I am living in Australia, so my accent is mostly Australian, but being originally Coptic Egyptian, I have a streak of that in my accent as well, plus bits and pieces snatched from my American friends and the English accent from movies we watch/listen too =D

    And I want to read your two books very much… šŸ˜€

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Jenna C. says:

    Oh my goodness!!! You all are soo….well…so British! =D I LOVE the British accent ha! Lovely, lovely šŸ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Piper LaMore says:

    Haha! This made my day. šŸ™‚ I just finished Chasing Jupiter this morning and loved it.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  12. I am super excited to meet you when you come to New Jersey!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  13. * Natalie Noel says:

    Haha that was great, Rachel! I am definitely gonna have to read your books.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  14. * Rissi says:

    Aw! This was so fun and sweet, Rachel – such a convincing British accent you and your sister’s have. Are you sure you were faking!? šŸ˜‰

    BIG congrats to my lovely blogger friend, Rosie. šŸ™‚ What a delightful surprise for you, girl!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  15. * Emily C. says:

    I don’t think it was too corny!!!! My dad said it was pretty good – and I agree with him! I think that yours was the best, but Ruthie was pretty good. Sorry Hannah, I think you should stick to your country accent – purposeful or not!!!
    ~ Emily

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

