rachelcoker



So…. You Like Clothes???

Why yes. How very observant of you. I do like clothes. I’m not sure how you all figured this out, but maybe it struck you one day when you realized that I’m never photographed in the same outfit twice, and that my wardrobe resembles a rainbow. Not quite sure…

But anyway, I thought it would be fun to blog about clothes just once! Because, hey, I am a girl and like ninety percent of my followers are girls. (Sorry to the couple of guys who are going to have to breeze past this post!)

1

Dress – Anthropologie, Sweater – J. Crew, Shoes – Aldo

The best way I can think of to tackle this topic is to approach it the way I do everything else in life. By making a list! So here’s the lowdown on what I like, where I shop, and what my secrets are. Maybe you love clothes and maybe they’re just something to put on your back, but I view them as a great way to express your personality and tell people a little about yourself without having to do too much talking! 😉

  • Firstly, I love *vintage* clothes.

A lot of people are scared of vintage because, hello, it’s basically old used clothes. I do have several friends who refuse to buy vintage or used clothes because they don’t want to own anything that once belonged to someone else, and that’s totally okay! I do realize that it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. BUT, if your cup of tea happens to be beautiful, unique, high-quality clothing, then vintage might be for you! Plus, there’s just something so individual about vintage clothing. I hate the idea that I could show up at a party and have three different girls there wearing nearly the same identical dress as me. It might be snobby, but I think it’s more a uniqueness thing. I’m not exactly like anyone else, so why should I dress with them? Thank you, but I will take my 70’s rainbow striped maxi dress and 50’s lace tulle dress over that American Eagle hoodie anyday.

seattle (6)

Dress – vintage

  • I’m also afraid of department stores.

You will never find me in a Kohls. Or a J.C. Penney’s, or a Macy’s. On a random day, I might be found in Walmart buying groceries or cds, but in general I have a strong dislike and distrust of department stores. Like, they literally freak me out. I’m not sure what it is, but I get nervous at the idea of going in them! Maybe it’s all the racks and shelves of multiple copies of the same things… It’s a bit weird. Plus, don’t even get me started on Targets. I have this theory that all of Target’s and Walmart’s items are made in the same factory, then some woman goes around and wraps the Target stuff in fancy boxes and hires a fancy photographer to make it look good. So basically, Target is like a snobby Walmart. There, I said it! 😉

You all can judge me now…

  • I like to support independent designers.

There are so many amazing, creative, and super talented designers out there who no one ever takes notice of because they’re so busy snatching $7 cardigans off afore-mentioned Target clearance racks. There’s just something so impersonal about the general shopping experience of modern websites and stores. Everything is mass-produced these days. Compare that to the rare talented individuals who still have a passion for sewing their own clothes and selling these amazing finds to women and teens who are actually interested in high-quality homemade goods! And by homemade, I’m not talking about cheap hand-sewed mocks. I’m talking about crazy cool tulle skirts, printed dresses, and embroidered blouses! I love supporting independent designers, and even though I’m not a liberal by any stretch of the mind, I do buy into the “Sweatshop Free” movement.

Let’s stop supporting companies who may condone factories operating under long, dangerous hours with minimum pay and poor working conditions and give our money instead to the designers and small businesses who are creating items we can love and wear guilt-free! 🙂 Designers like my wonderfully talented sister Hannah, and her shop Hannah Everly Designs. (Giveway soon, by the way!) I also love and support several other independent designers! Their clothes may cost a bit more, but remember that you aren’t support a corporation, you’re supporting an individual. And every penny of your money is going toward encouraging and helping that person to continue their art. Which I think is a pretty cool thing!

rachel_047

Dress – Moulinette Soeurs (ebay find)

  • I usually wear dresses.

Okay, in the summer I wear a dress EVERY DAY, I kid you not. Well, maybe I’ll wear a pair of shorts like once a week but other than that it’s a dress. I don’t even wear skirts that much. It’s pretty much all dresses. I mean, they’re so easy to wear! You don’t even have to worry about matching a shirt and a bottom, or whether or not your top is going to ride up. You can just throw on a cotton dress and a pair of sandals and go. Gah. It’s so easy that now I’m just dying for it to be summertime… And if you’re worried that the breeze might cause your dresses to be a problem, just wear those cheap Soffe shorts underneath them. That’s what I do!

  • I wear heels.

Even though I’m 5’8, I still wear heels every Sunday and sometimes other days of the week, too. Because life is just too short to worry about being taller than everyone else! If I spent all my time worrying about what other people thought about my clothes or my shoes or my height, I would miss out on a lot of fun in life. I just wear things that I like, even if it’s something weird like an orange velvet blazer or red polka dot heels. If it makes me smile and feel good about myself, then it’s worth it!

62

Shoes – ASOS

  • I bargain shop.

It’s probably a result of the two million hours of Dave Ramsey lessons I was forced to listen to growing up, but I refuse to pay full price for anything. Like, I’m literally looking at my closet right now and I don’t think I paid full price for a thing in it. Okay, maybe the orange suede Mary-Jane heels. But they were the only ones left in my size! Other than that… Haha, but seriously, don’t expect that everything is non-negotiable! Even if you have to go to a department store *shudder* look for coupons or other promotions. And if you, like me, can successfully avoid the siren (?) call of department stores, many jewels are to be found in the world of online shopping. I have gotten soooo many designer, vintage, and even regular J. Crew and Anthropologie finds through Ebay. I’m scary good at navigating Ebay, it’s not even funny. (I even wrote an article on it for a friend’s blog here) Etsy.com is also an amazing goldmine, and whenever I find something I like on there, I just message the seller and make an offer on it. Never pay what they’re asking you, unless they won’t compromise and you can’t imagine life without it. (In which case, you’re probably too attached to clothes anyway and need to stop spending so much money!)

Dress - Dorothy Perkins, Bag - Kate Spade

Dress – Dorothy Perkins, Bag – Kate Spade

  • I read blogs.

Ugh. This is embarrassing. Yes, I am “that person” who reads style blogs. Let’s be brief about this, okay? My favorite is obviously one of my closest friends Elaini. She’s amazing. Her blog is here. I also love DesignLoveFest, Classy Girls Wear Pearls, and WishWishWish. Among others…

*

Yeah, so that’s about all I have to say on this topic. I think. For now. 😉 But something tells me I’m just going to end up getting a bunch of comments asking, “Rachel, if you’re going to be so snobbish about Target, then where on earth do you actually shop? Are there other stores out there???”

Haha, yes. So here’s a list of my absolute favorite places to shop, both in-person and online.

  • Ebay.com
  • Etsy.com
  • J. Crew (outlet or clearance only)
  • Anthropologie (um, I will shop their clearance sometimes, but I usually just buy amazing Anthropologie dresses on Ebay, hehe)
  • Modcloth.com (an amazing resource for adorable vintage-inspired dresses all made from sweatshop-free designers!)
  • ASOS.com
  • Goodwill (don’t judge! It takes some hunting, but I have found some beautiful designer dresses at Goodwill! I just always take them to a tailor afterwards to make sure they fit properly)
  • Eshakti.com (my sister will kill me for posting this–a gold mine for dresses and where fifty percent of my dresses come from)
  • And of course, my sister’s etsy shop, Hannah Everly Designs!

Are there any questions? Where do you buy most of your clothes? And is fashion even a priority to you???

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I do most of my shopping at garage sales and I have come up with J.Crew dresses for $8 and less. It’s awesome!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Jordanna says:

    Eddie Bauer sales! It’s an odd day that I don’t step out in at least one EB item and a normal day if I look like a walking EB mannikin.
    That said, my idea of dressing up is a little extra makeup and some pearls (because when in doubt, wear pearls!). Boots and pearls – thank you, Carrie Underwood, Shania Twain, and Miranda Lambert 😉

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Sydney says:

    Love it!! Do you get most of your shoes as ASOS?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      No, but I’ve gotten a few pairs there! And a couple other things too–I love ASOS! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Sydney says:

    *at

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Hannah Elise says:

    In the last year or so I’ve gotten into fashion more and more 🙂 I love all your dresses–they’re gorgeous!–but dresses don’t flatter me at all.

    I shop at GoodWill too! And Salvation Army, and other consignment stores . . . in fact, most of my wardrobe is either thrifted, a gift, or was on sale somewhere!

    Have you checked out http://www.bramblewoodfashion.com? That’s my favorite fashion site *ever*.

    Can’t wait to see your sister’s designs!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Yes, I love that site! Ashley has actually featured my sister’s skirts before, which makes me like her even more! 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
      • * Hannah Elise says:

        How cool! Now that I think of it, I think I did hear about her in passing on Bramblewood Fashion. . . .

        Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Chihuahuacharms says:

    My friend is so going to kill me for this ( >:D ) but she has a really cool fashion blog that you’ll love, so there! You’ll thank me later, Scarlett. Anyways, you can find it by googling “optimisticbutneverquiteelegant” and it’s in blogger. Hope you like it 🙂 (and you didn’t hear it from me…)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Okay, I’ll look it up! Kudos to you for supporting your friend! 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Emily Ann says:

    ahh I love this post! Thank you! I love, love, love your style and I’m also trying to buy sweatshop free clothes, which is really hard these days. Thanks for the suggestions!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  8. I agree with you wholeheartedly on the department store thing…I just have to add that Walmart clothes are way more durable than Target’s flimsy so called “stylish” items. I just have a question for you. I know you’re more a dress girl but any tips on finding some good pants? I search thrift stores all the time and online but can never find pants that I like, fit pretty well, and are comfortable.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Good question! I actually do own several pairs of pants but it’s hard for me too because I have surprisingly short legs! I would say the first thing to do is to know your waist size. Pants don’t usually run in sizes like 4, 6, or 8. They’re sized 27, 28, 29. So measure your waist (the smallest part just above your stomach) and see what size you are! That will help enormously! Also, never underestimate the power of a tailor. I get almost all my nicer pants tailored. I buy nice, “expensive” pants at a really cheap price on Ebay that I know will fit me because I measured myself beforehand, and then get them tailored and hemmed! It never fails! 🙂
      I also swear by J. Crew’s matchstick skinny jeans. Perfect for my short legs! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Rissi says:

    Such a fabulous post, Rachel. 🙂

    Only thing is… I am one of those girl’s who LOVES Target. Their clothes are just… cool. Having said that, yeah, I like to say that while they think they are a step up from Wal-Mart, I am not sure they are; their sense of fashion IS way cooler, it’s just their quality I am not sure is better. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, yeah I knew I would have at least one person to say that. I just don’t think their clothes are that much better, though! I just think they’re better at branding themselves so everyone *thinks* they are cooler.. Haha, but I’m definitely just a skeptic. 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Alicia says:

    I am so glad you did this post. Part of the reason I love watching your videos is getting to see what you wear and your hairstyles! Love your sense of fashion. Great Post!

    P.S. Thank you for doing the interview for me! I am hosting a giveaway of a copy Chasing Jupiter in case any of you readers would like.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, thanks. 😉 And thanks for sharing the giveaway! I’m sure my readers will want to check it out! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  11. * cait says:

    I totally loved this post! Just awesome. Yep. I love your style and that you dress according to your taste and not what other people think. Woot! 🙂

    I’m not into the vintage style myself, but still 90% of what I wear comes from thrift stores (though here in Australia we call them “op-shops”). And if it’s not from a thrift store, I probably pinched it from my sister. 😉 As for paying full price? Pft. Never.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Ugh. You have NO IDEA how many amazing shops and designers live in Australia and will not ship to the US. It kills me. Take advantage of that shopping, girl! 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  12. I have to say, Rachel, that I’ve always loved your sense of style with clothes, and how you love wearing bright and pretty dresses like the beautiful ones in the photos above. I’ve always been upset by the fact that lots of lovely girls, particularly homeschoolers disparge from wearing pretty, bright clothing (though modest). I love dresses myself and wear them whenever I can (they are so comfortable, and practical and pretty too -very feminine!). Often my friends ask me do I wear nothing but dresses and I kind of flush because it is half true though I love wearing a nice matching skirt and blouse or modest/pretty pants & t-shirt.

    We have thrift stores around here too which I from time to time buy great clothing bargains from (as Cait said us down in Australia call them ‘Op Shops’.).

    I rarely pay full-price on anything either – unless it is for a special, special occasion like the Gala Event for my short story publication ;).

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * Hannah Elise says:

      Aw, that’s sad that homeschoolers do that 😦 I’m a homeschooler myself and live in a town where homeschooling is *extremely* common, and most of them have families who advocate wearing skirts all/most of the time (which is fine of course, just not how my family does it), but they seem free to dress in bright clothes–usually, albeit sometimes *plain* bright clothes. I think it’s sad how Mennonites dress so plainly. I love pretty clothes! Clothes are an extension of your personality 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  13. * Jenna C. says:

    I love your style! 😀 I agree with you on target….I can NEVER find anything I like there…….also walmart…Thrift stores haven’t helped me much…but I suppose looking around will do some good…

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  14. * Emily says:

    Oh my goodness, Rachel, you just introduced me some gold mines!! 😀 Modcloth and eShakti are practically perfect for finding vintage dresses! Now if only they didn’t cost quite so much… 😉 Haha!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

