rachelcoker



Perspective

20

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. Which is kind of strange because I feel like when all is going well in life, I tend to just skip on down my yellow brick road, totally and completely oblivious to anything anyone might say to me or about me. This is me a pretty good percentage of the time. Happy and oblivious, like a toddler who’s never considered the fact that Dora the Explorer’s mother lets her go tramping about aloneย in the woods with a singing backpack and monkey wearing boots.

And then every now and then I happen to have a day (or two) where something happens that really causes me to think. And I know it’s always a God-thing, because it’s always those days that cause me to re-evaluate just how much His presence means in my life. Lately this has been manifesting itself in my own self-image and perspective on life. Because sometimes, I am just not happy with the way God made me.

It’s a really weird thing to blog about, mostly because I don’t know any of you and you don’t really know me, so it’s not like we can have an actual balanced discussion on this topic. For all you know, I could be some deranged psycho who just happens to be good at balancing truths with snarky witticisms and writing sappy fairytales. But a lot of who I am can’t even be translated into a blog, or an interview, or a vlog video. Because I’m a seventeen-year-old girl and I have so many faults and imperfections and things that I hate about myself, both physically and mentally.

Anyway, I’m just like all other teenage girls and sometimes I have days where I struggle with image, jealousy, and self-pity, just like everyone else. And it’s always tough to have to sit myself down and truly understand the fact that I will always be aware of my own imperfections and struggles, and probably always be a bit envious of the gifts and successes of others. It’s something that comes up quite often as I examine my heart, and something that I’ve really been praying about lately.

And so, whenever I have those days where I feel second-best or dissatisfied with the way God made me, I just take it to the Lord in prayer.ย I pour out my heart to Him and pray for satisfaction in Him. And the more that I pray about it, the more at peace I feel in my own heart about God’s hand in my life.

Before the world even began, God smiled to Himself as He wove together the seams of my life. He knew how I would look, how I would grow and love Him, and the things that He would lead me to do during my time on earth. He made me exactly the way that I am, with all my imperfections and quirks, because He knew that it was through those faults and cracks that He would be most glorified.

The Lord doesn’t always glory in the mighty, in the brilliant, in the socially succesful, or in the gorgeous. The Lord works through the lives of everyday, ho-hum people who honestly love Him and want to serve Him with their lives. And when I waste precious moments of His time comparing myself to others or wondering why on earth He wouldn’t give me certain gifts of abilities, I am not only hurting myself but also the cause of my Creator. Because God isn’t glorified in my dissatisfaction and complaints. He’s not honored in my vanity, or my self-pity.

It takes a different type of perspective to honestly please Him with my life. It takes understanding that I have a purpose–a beauty in God’s eyes. That even on the days that I feel stupid and silly and dull, He is still working through me. Working through my imperfections to point others to Christ. It’s a wonderful, glorious truth that I feel I have fully realized over the past few days. A truth that warms my heart and fills me with nothing but joy and love for others. It erases bitterness, wipes out jealousy, and leaves no room for hurt feelings. God loves me, and that very fact makes my life worth something.

-Rachel


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hannah says:

    Rachel, you had me in tears. I have been going through some extremely difficult times in my life right now, things I never thought I would ever go through. I have often been struggling with the same problem. Becoming angry at God for the life He placed me in and the way He made me.

    This post was absolutely perfect timing. Rachel, God used you to encourage me!! (As He always does, but this time I really needed it.) You are such an amazing, sweet, talented, beautiful girl, and God is using you in ways you could never ever imagine. Thank you for this post!!! Sharing your struggles and how you overcome greatly encourages others and shows them how they can overcome their own struggles. Thank you so much!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Hannah, I’m so glad that it was an encouragement to you! I struggled a lot over whether or not to post this, and actually had it saved in my drafts folder for over a week, but felt the Lord calling me to post it today. I’m so glad that it ministered to you today, though. I’ll be praying for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
      • * Hannah says:

        Thank you so so much, sweet Rachel! You are amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  2. * dynamicjoy says:

    I couldn’t have said this better myself! Keep writing and living for the Lord, Rachel! -a sister in Christ =)

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Emily Ann says:

    Rachel, this is so beautiful and true. It reminds me of the quote, โ€œIf God had wanted me otherwise, He would have created me otherwise.” Thanks for this inspiring post!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      What a beautiful reminder of God’s working in our lives. ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  4. * cait says:

    That’s really special. ๐Ÿ™‚ It gets easy to “know” this, but accepting it and praying about it can be entirely different things.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Diana says:

    Thank you. I really, really needed this.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Katia says:

    “For all you know, I could be some deranged psycho who just happens to be good at balancing truths with snarky witticisms and writing sappy fairytales.” You’re pretty funny for a deranged psycho (just kidding). Honestly, thank you so much for this post. I’ve been going through this as well, and praying about it, which I’ve found to really help. I’m glad I’m not the only one. This was really encouraging.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Emily says:

    So I totally know this has nothing to do with the post, but… where did you get those gloves? ๐Ÿ˜€ They are so 1940-ish! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, it’s okay! They are vintage, from the 50’s. I picked them up at my favorite local vintage shop! ๐Ÿ™‚ Aren’t they cute, though???

      | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago


Leave a comment